• Oct 6 2019 | 9:00 pm

    Akiyama/Boyd, Krausbauer/Suzuki, Inglizian/Faber, Brock/Alvarez/Zalek/Young

    Maverick improvising guitarist Tetuzi Akiyama joins conceptual sound artist Mykel Boyd and many others for an exciting lineup of innovative new music.

Akiyama + Boyd


Tetuzi Akiyama is on tour in North America from Tokyo. Since emerging in the 1980’s from Tokyo’s insurgent improvising underground, guitarist Tetuzi Akiyama has blazed a thrillingly confounding trail. Over the decades Akiyama has developed an utterly unique musical language; his playing reveals a total mastery of the achingly beautiful sounds of roots and country blues music as well as the nuanced avant garde abstractions that embrace subtle sounds and silence. Akiyama is perhaps the only artist that can lay equal claim to the inspiration of John Lee Hooker’s boogie guitar runs and John Cage’s silence.


MYKEL BOYD (°1970, Kankakee, IL) makes sound recordings, conceptual artworks, photos, installations and films. By experimenting with aleatoric processes, BOYD creates work in which a fascination with the clarity of content and an uncompromising attitude towards conceptual and minimal art can be found. The work is aloof and systematic and a cool and neutral imagery is used.

Krausbauer + Suzuki


Oakland’s Kaori Suzuki and John Krausbauer will present music for voices, amplified strings, electronics, and bell percussion. Their work originates from a shared interest in ecstatic and spiritual musics as well as the “avant-garde”. Utilizing sustained tones, alternate tunings, long durations/playing endurances, and stroboscopic lighting, their music explores the parameters and possibilities of psychotropic ‘experiential’ environments rather than the strictly ‘musical.’

Faber + Inglizian


Will Faber – Just Intonation Guitar

Alex Inglizian – Modular Synthesizer



Johanna Brock is a violist and improvisor based in Chicago. With a sound that evokes orchestral landscapes, free jazz, and sonic collage, her work explores the relationship between meaning and sound. “Blending elements of pop, electronic, jazz and classical music with rhythms and melodies that seem other worldly, Brock has established herself as a truly dynamic force capable of realizing nearly any sonic vision.”- Midwest Action


Nick Alvarez, drums
Sara Zalek, voice and movement
Andrew Scott Young, bass